Polar cooks dinner

Meatballs in tomato sauce

I was clearing leave today so I decided to try cooking meatballs again. I wasn’t satisfied with my previous attempt so I varied some of the ingredients this time.

I made the meatballs using 380g of minced pork, water chestnuts, onions, garlic, bread, egg yolks and feta cheese. Once again, I tried to dice the onions and garlic as small as possible. Then I cooked the onions and garlic until the onions were a little transulcent before adding them to the mixture. I used about one hot dog bun worth of bread and two egg yolks. I found a bag of peeled water chestnuts in the supermarket and decided to use it to replace the celery. While chopping up the water chestnuts, I kept popping a few from the bag into my mouth. I must have eaten around six of them. Then I mixed them all up and put some crumbly feta cheese in the middle of the meatballs.

Meatballs in tomato sauce

I seared the meatballs before adding them to the tomato sauce. The sauce was simply made using canned tomatoes and pepper. While waiting for the pot to boil, I added some balsamic vinegar and milk to the mixture. This time none of the meatballs disintegrated and some even looked round. Mother said it was tasty and better than the last time. Brother did not say anything but I noticed that he took three helpings of the meatballs. Hee hee.

Roasted beetroots and carrots

I also roasted some beetroots and carrots for dinner. They were easy to cook as I only quickly tossed them in a mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper beforehand. After I put the beetroots and carrots into the pan, I drizzled the remaining mixture over them and placed them in the oven. I thought the carrots turned out quite well. The underside was dyed pink by the juice from the beetroots and there was a slightly caramelized flavor. The beetroots still remained pretty crunchy and had a tangy sweetness.

Leave a Reply

