Cumi Bali Indonesian Restaurant

This was my second visit to Cumi Bali Indonesian Restaurant. The last time I came here was with roughly the same group of friends. The decor still remained the same but this time we got to sit upstairs.

Chilli brinjal

The first dish to arrive was the brinjal (eggplant) which was covered with sambal belachan. The eggplant was cooked until it was soft but not mushy yet. It came to the table piping hot and all of us kept cautioning each other to let it cool down first before popping it into our mouths. The chilli paste was fragrant and not very spicy so even someone like me could also enjoy it.

Grilled squid

I loved the grilled squid on my previous visit. It was drizzled with a sweetish sambal sauce and the meat was so very soft. The squid was still tasty but I felt that this time the meat was not as soft.

Fried chicken

The fried chicken was Mao Mao’s favorite dish simply because it was the only dish that did not taste sweet. I thought the fried chicken was a bit dry though.

Jumbo satay chicken

I preferred the jumbo satay chicken which was juicier. It was grilled and then drizzled with a sweetish black sauce. Two sticks were enough for the five of us at the table.

Mutton rendang

I liked the mutton rendang with was (once again) sweetish and not spicy. It had a nice flavor of coconut milk infused with spices. The meat was moist but could be a little tough.

Chicken soup

We also had some chicken soup with was cooked with tender chicken chunks, potatoes and tomatoes. Mao Mao complained that even the soup tasted sweet. But the soup tasted salty to me. I liked the soup although there was nothing very special about it.

Chendol

Dessert was chendol. It was just a basic recipe of shaved ice, green strands of jelly made from rice flour, coconut milk and gula melaka (palm sugar). But this was how I liked it. I liked the mixture of coconut milk and gula melaka so much that I asked for another bowl of chendol, prompting Mao Mao to call me a greedy pig.

Cumi Bali Indonesian Restaurant
66 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088487
Tel: +65-62206619

Leave a Reply

