Polar makes sandwich

Fried egg and luncheon meat sandwich

Nowadays whenever I make a fried egg and luncheon meat (known as spam in other places) sandwich, I tended to think of Pooh Bear and Sayang. I am reminded of the days when the three of us would eat breakfast together. Most days we would eat a typical Singaporean breakfast of fried beehoon or fried noodles, but when we felt like a special treat, we would order fried egg and luncheon meat sandwiches from the canteen owner. It was just a simple sandwich with a fried egg and luncheon meat between two slices of toasted bread but it always left us with a warm and happy feeling.

For this sandwich, I added cheddar cheese and some baby spinach. Instead of buttering the bread, I drizzled some olive oil on the slices and then toasted them. I heated up the luncheon meat in the pan so that it would be nicely browned. I added a little butter when I fried the egg so that it would be a little crispy but I made sure the yolk remained runny. Due to the runny egg yolk, this was a messy sandwich to eat but it tasted so good that it was worth going through all the trouble of washing up.

One thought on “Polar makes sandwich

Leave a Reply

