Bukit Batok Town Park

Bukit Batok Town Park

I decided visited Bukit Batok Town Park and take a look at the Little Guilin that seemed to be the highlight of the park. The park used to be a granite quarry which was later converted to a pond. It was given the nickname Little Guilin because it was said to resemble the scenery of Guilin in China.

It may be called Bukit Batok Town Park but it wasn’t near Bukit Batok MRT station. To get to the park, I got off at Bukit Gombak MRT station. Behind the MRT station was the Bukit Gombak stadium and behind that was Bukit Batok Town Park. It was just a 10 min walk to the park from the MRT station. As it was a hot day, I bought a cup of fresh milk with grass jelly from the Gong Cha outlet at the station before heading for the park. I found it to be a small park with three areas offering different views of the granite quarry.

Bukit Batok Town Park

The first area I visited was just behind the stadium. It was a peaceful place surrounded by tall trees. This part of the park seemed more natural and less man-made. There was a stone path that snaked around the perimeter but no path that led down to the water edge. But it wasn’t hard to make my way down the grassy slope and obviously other people had done the same thing. I saw some people fishing by the water edge but as far as I could tell, they did not catch anything. Visitors to this area tended to stay for a while. By an unspoken agreement, everybody kept to their volume down and did not disturb others.

This area was also near the start of the Bukit Gombak trail which was closed permanently in 2007 due to landslides.

Bukit Batok Town Park

There were no seats but there were big granite stones that could be used as seats. Some of the stones in this area had an orange moss-like thing growing on it. It looked furry and soft. I stayed here until I drank about half of my drink. Then deciding that it was time to move on, I continued on the path which led me back to the road. It appeared that this area was not connected to the rest of the park. I had to walk for 5 mins along the road to reach the next area of the park.

Bukit Batok Town Park

The second area of the park had a wide stone path along the edge of the pond. I encountered some people in this area but they seldom stayed for long.

Bukit Batok Town Park

The view of the granite hill was slightly different in the second area. It does look a bit like the mountains in Chinese paintings but a much smaller version.

Bukit Batok Town Park

The second and third area of the park were connected by a small path that were lined with granite rocks. I could still see the cuts in the stone that were made when this place was a quarry.

Bukit Batok Town Park

As this was the last area I visited, I tended to think of this view as the back of the granite hill. The third area of the park was similar to the second area with a wide stone path around the pond.

Bukit Batok Town Park

The second and third area of the park both had a small alcove where people could sit and rest. I thought it looked nice and cozy.

Bukit Batok Town Park

Overall, I felt the park was rather small. It also felt too close to the hustle and bustle of city life for my liking. At some spots, the road was only 1-2 meters away from the park. But still, a park, no matter how small, is always a welcomed sight in the concrete jungle.

Leave a Reply

