Brunch at The Cupping Room

I would be flying off later in the day so Redhead and I decided to sleep late and go for brunch instead of breakfast. During this trip, we drank coffee at The Cupping Room but we had not tried the food. So I suggested having brunch there.

We started our meal with a cup of caffeine each. I don’t have a habit of drinking coffee in the morning so I don’t really need it, unlike Redhead who needed a good cup of coffee to wake her up. The latte which was good as usual.

We shared a salmon and tomato scrambled eggs on toast. It was good. The acidity of the tomatoes cuts through the greasy egg and salmon. The bread was those hard types and added some crunch to the food.

We saw a customer eating a plate of carbonara the other day. It looked pretty good so we decided to order it as well. The carbonara came with a lovely poached egg sitting on top of the pasta like a pearl.

It looked so lovely that I almost could not bear to cut the egg and release the runny yolk. The carbonara was tasty but perhaps a bit heavy for one person.

After brunch, I left for the International Finance Centre (IFC) Mall and dropped off my luggage. There was no queue at the counter which was good. I collected my ticket but I noticed that the gate number was blank. Since there was nothing else that I wanted to see at the IFC Mall, I decided to head to the airport instead. It feels easier to travel to the airport when I didn’t need to drag a heavy luggage bag with me, even if it was on wheels.

Since I was early, I walked to terminal 2 to take a look at the Jetstar counters. I was amazed that there was a long queue and I was really glad that I dropped off my luggage at the IFC instead. There was still no gate displayed next to my flight but I also noticed that a lot flights were either in the same situation or delayed. I thought that it was probably due to the typhoon, which resulted in a lot of flights being cancelled or delayed. So a lot of flights would be queuing up to take off.

After passing through the customs, I stood together with a group of passengers around the display board, waiting for a gate number to appear next to my flight. Once the gate number appeared, I took off for the gate. During my journey from the display board to the gate, which took 15 mins at most, the airport authorities changed the gate number. Luckily it was just two gates away from the inital gate number so I did not have to walk far.

Reaching the correct gate, I overheard a conversation between a passenger and the staff. The staff said that the plane would be delayed for about an hour which wasn’t too bad, considering that Mao Mao’s flight was delayed for a few hours at least. It was drizzling at the airport and I hoped that it would clear up before my flight took off. It didn’t. There was still a light drizzle when I boarded the plane but luckily my flight was allowed to take off after an hour.

I saw the sunset on the flight home but it was not as nice as the sunset at the start of the trip.

Place we ate today

The Cupping Room
Address: Shop LG, 287-299 Queen’s Road Central (Entrance on Clevery Street), Sheung Wan
Tel: +852-93161980
Opening hours: 8am – 5pm (Mon, Wed – Fri); 8am – 6pm (Sat); 10am – 6pm (Sun)
Nearest MTR station: Sheung Wan

Leave a Reply

