Lunch at Bakerzin

I went to Bakerzin for lunch as I felt like eating the braised pork belly rice again. Perhaps my eagerness manifested itself in my actions because I reached the restaurant too early. Although the restaurant was opened, the lunch items were not ready yet. But it was okay, I had brought along my ereader so I could read while I wait for 15 – 30 mins.

As I did not eat breakfast, I was feeling quite hungry and decided to order the lunch set ($17.90) which consisted of soup, main course and a drink. I chose the tomato soup which was thick and tangy. The tangy flavor further stimulated my appetite. The portion served as part of the lunch set was quite small. But in a way, it was good because the soup was quite filling.

The braised pork belly rice was a bit of a disappointment though. The first time, I ate this dish, the rice used was Japanese rice. When I subsequently ate it again, it had been changed to normal white rice. This time, while the egg were still pretty good, the pork was a bit tougher than I remembered but still within the acceptable range. The most disappointing thing was the rice which was hard and dry. In fact, it felt somewhat like overnight rice taken from the fridge and heated up. I couldn’t help wondering if it was because I arrived at the restaurant too early and the kitchen did not have time to cook a new batch of rice.

It is always sad when you find that the quality had dropped for a dish that you liked.

Bakerzin
101 Thomson Road, #01-07/60 United Square, Singapore 307591
Tel:  +65-62515550

Leave a Reply

