Otoro Don at The Sushi Bar

Orchard Road was surprisingly uncrowded. I had expected it to be packed, given that it was the first day of 2016. But it was so empty that it felt like I was walking around my neighborhood mall on workday instead of Singapore’s busiest shopping area. Even though it was lunchtime, the restaurants were not fully packed.

I went to The Sushi Bar Dining on the 5th floor of Ngee Ann City. I had never eaten at this restaurant but I heard that the food was pretty good. Seeing that I was alone, the staff gave me a counter seat. I supposed I could have asked for a table if I wanted to, because there were still a few empty tables available. After studying the menu, I debated between the Otoro Don ($42.90) and the Premium Chirashi Don (seasonal price, about $44 at that time).

In the end, I went for the Otoro Don because it was not part of the regular menu so it might not be available in the future. Besides, it was slightly cheaper (there was a special for otoro dishes) and I love otoro.

The Otoro Don was just simply eight slices of otoro on vinegar rice. But when the quality is good, you don’t need much else. It came with a shiso leaf, ginger slices and wasabi. I felt that there was no need for the ginger as the fish was not fishy at all. The fish was fresh and beautifully marbled. It was so soft that it seemed to just melt in my mouth. Even though it was the fattiest part of the tuna, it was light and did not leave a greasy aftertaste as fatty food tended to do.

It felt good to open the new year with an indulgent meal.

The Sushi Bar Dining
Address: 391 Orchard Road, #05-34/35 Ngee Ann City, Singapore 238873
Tel: +65-88183535

Leave a Reply

