Bought more air plants

Today I decided to go down (or go up might be more accurate because it is in the northwestern side of Singapore) to Pick A Plant nursery. I’m really getting into air plant gardening and the more I learn about them, the more I want to buy. Si Hamil told me that this is a sign of aging 😑

It took me about 1.5 hour to travel by public transport to the nursery. So it meant I would be spending 3 hours just travelling to and back. So unlikely that I would visit the nursery often. Perhaps that’s not such a bad thing, otherwise I would keep buying air plants.

The nursery is located at the end of Track 14. Along the road are other nurseries and a cemetery. As I walked in, I didn’t meet anyone although every 10 mins or so, a vehicle would drive passed me. I’m glad that it was bright daylight, especially when I walked past the cemetery portion.

At the end of Track 14 was the Song Orchids nursery. I had reached the end of the road but I couldn’t see Pick A Plant. While I was looking lost and confused, an Indian man came out of Song Orchids and gave me directions to Pick A Plant. From Song Orchids, I turned right and walked until I came to a brunch of smaller nurseries. Pick A Plant was one of them.

Even though it was smaller than the other nurseries that I passed by on the way in, it was filled with all types of air plants. Air plants don’t need soil so it’s easy to pack a lot of them into a small space. The shelves are close together and there was only space for one person to walk. The plants had just been watered so it was wet, hot and humid. There were also a lot of mosquitoes and I must have been bitten at least ten times. Next time, I’m going to cover myself in mosquito repellent.

Not all the plants were labelled and I’m not so knowledgeable that I was able to identify them by sight. The owner who was busy talking to other customers and I didn’t want to trouble him. So to be safe, I picked either small plants or plants that were labelled.

I bought 6 air plants:

  • T. ionantha vanhyningii
  • 1 T. ionantha Ron
  • 1 T. ionantha Fuego clump
  • 1 T. ionantha v. fastigiata (used to be known as T. ionantha Peanut)
  • 1 T. ionantha Mardi Gras

Altogether these six plants cost me $76. Being a newcomer to air plants, I’ve tried to buy plants that are below $20 and my most expensive plant is $16 but it’s still quite a bit of money after adding them up. I comforted myself that in the air plant world, there are a lot of plants that are more expensive than what I’ve bought, with some costing $100 or more for one plant. The owner told me that some rare air plants sold in other nurseries can cost up to $1,000. Wow, I guess the sky is really the limit.

When I got home, I spent the rest of the day tying the air plants to a metal rack that I’ve bought from Daiso. I’m told that metal will heat up under the sun and might burn the plants, but the place I am going to hang the rack up will not be under direct sunlight, so it should be safe.

Due to my butter fingers, I dropped some and broke a few leaves. Sigh. The main plant is still ok and will survive but the broken leaves will always be a reminder of my clumsiness. Sigh.

Another photo to show the scale.

I’m pretty pleased with how the rack turned out, and there’s still a lot of space on the left for more plants. Ha ha ha.

One thought on “Bought more air plants

  1. Hi ! 🙂
    I intend to do the same as in trudging through the plant nurseries to get air plants but I am a about a year later than you in doing so.

    Love the idea of how you put them up like a picture somewhat like a vertical garden.

    I currently hang my collection with wires and bird cages 🙂

    Happy planting!

Leave a Reply

